Thursday 9 July 2020 at 9 a.m. : Paliamentary Network for the promotion of Good Governance

Thrusday 9 July 2020 at 10:30 a.m. : Plenary sitting (House Chamber / Conference Centre)

   FR | EN
  • Home
  • National Assembly
  • Organisation


The National Assembly comprises 180 (one hundred and eighty) members elected by direct and secret universal suffrage for a five-year term of office. It comprises the following Bodies: 

I – The Governing Bodies

1- The Bureau

The National Assembly has a Bureau which is elected at the beginning of each legislative year. This Bureau is comprised of:

 A President
A Senior Vice-President
Five Vice-Presidents
Four Questors
Twelve Secretaries

The Bureau is assisted by a Secretary General, who is ex officio member of Bureau as well as legal and parliamentary adviser of the National Assembly.

2- The Chairmen’s Conference

EPursuant to the provisions of Section 39 of Law No 2014/16 of 9 September2014: Standing Orders of the National Assembly, the Chairmen’s Conference is a collegial body comprising:

The President of the National Assembly
Members of the Bureau of the National Assembly
Chairpersons of the nine General Committees
Chairpersons of Parliamentary Groups

A member of Government takes part in the deliberations of the Chairmen’s Conference. The main role of the Chairmen’s Conference consists in:

 Drawing up the agenda of the National Assembly
Ruling on the admissibility of Bills and Private Members’ Bills submitted to the National Assembly
Referring these Bills to the relevant committee
Setting the dates of the various plenary sittings

II- Internal groups

The internal groups of the National Assembly are Party Groups and the General Committees, Ad hoc Committees, Special Committees and Committees of Enquiry.